WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines)

WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) are a set of guidelines, established by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), that provide a framework for ensuring that web content is accessible to people with disabilities.


1. What is the purpose of WCAG?
WCAG aims to make web content more accessible for people with disabilities by providing guidelines that developers can follow to create websites and digital content that is perceivable, operable, understandable, and robust.

2. Who benefits from WCAG compliance?
WCAG compliance benefits not only individuals with disabilities but also businesses and organizations. It ensures that a wider audience can access and engage with their web content, leading to increased user satisfaction, improved brand reputation, and compliance with legal requirements in many countries.

3. Are WCAG guidelines legally binding?
Although WCAG guidelines are not legally binding, they form the basis for many accessibility laws and regulations worldwide. In countries like the United States, compliance with WCAG is required under Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act. Additionally, many countries have adopted WCAG as the standard for accessibility in their legislation.

4. How are WCAG guidelines structured?
WCAG guidelines are divided into four main principles: perceivable, operable, understandable, and robust. Each principle includes a set of criteria and guidelines that web developers should follow to ensure accessibility. These guidelines cover various aspects such as alternative text for images, keyboard accessibility, clear language, and compatibility with assistive technologies.

5. What are the different levels of WCAG conformance?
WCAG provides three levels of conformance: A, AA, and AAA. Level A conformance addresses the most basic accessibility requirements, while AA conformance is considered the minimum level recommended for most websites. AAA conformance represents the highest level of accessibility, requiring strict adherence to all guidelines, but it may not always be feasible or necessary for all websites to achieve this level.